SFM Co-Hosting Green Sukuk Webinar on May 23

Join us next week for this webinar on
Green Sukuk – why, what, how
Financing renewable energy in the Islamic World

From the Green Sukuk Working Group: Gulf Bond & Sukuk Council / Climate Bonds Initiative / Clean Energy Business Council MENA

Hosted by The Sustainable Investment Professional Certification (SIPC) @Concordia University in Montreal, and Sustainable Financial Markets (SFM)

Sukuk are the Islamic equivalent of bonds. The sukuk market is well-suited to channel the growing global pool of Shari’ah-compliant capital to fund renewable energy and energy efficiency projects.

The Green Sukuk Working Group has been set up to facilitate and promote Islamic finance products which are compliant with a low-carbon economy.

Topics to be covered:
- An introduction to Green Sukuk
- Market demand
- Potential Green Sukuk architecture
- Investment opportunities

Presenters
Michael Grifferty – President, Gulf Bond & Sukuk Association
The GBSA is the regional trade association representing the Arabian Gulf bond and sukuk market. Michael has 20 years experience in debt markets, including as a US Dept of Treasury advisor for sovereign debt management and a consultant to the IMF.

Jeremy Crane, COO, Adenium Energy Capital
Dubai-based Adenium invests in the clean energy sector, especially solar. Jeremy has designed, built and operated renewable power facilities, as well as other infrastructure, around the world.

Paul Guire, Managing Director, ICAP Deutschland
ICAP is the world’s largest interdealer broker. Paul’s interest in renewable energy and islamic finance, and his access to day to day secondary market Sukuk pricing, puts him in a good position to comment on prospects for this market.

Sean Kidney, CEO, Climate Bonds Initiative
The Climate Bonds Initiative is an investor-focused not-for-profit working to mobilize debt capital markets to fund a rapid, global transition to a low-carbon economy.

23 May 2013; one hour
5pm Dubai time / 3pm CET / 2pm BST / 9am EDT

To join the webinar RSVP to Bridget Boulle at bridget.boulle@climatebonds.net